The Bachelor of Science

The Bachelor of Science is a three-year Program designed for students with a strong interest in Mathematics and Science. This highly selective and multidisciplinary program is taught entirely in English.

The Bachelor of Science is an intense program leading to a double major that allows students to develop strong knowledge and skills in either discipline.

Our students benefit from an exceptional learning environment in which they have access to cutting-edge facilities located in École Polytechnique’s Research Centers.

    Picto-PROGRAM-duree
    Three Years - 180 ECTS
    Picto-PROGRAM-Multidisciplinary
    Three Double Majors
    Picto-PROGRAM-Start
    September 2020
    picto-terre
    International
    Picto-PROGRAM-Location
    In France
    Picto-PROGRAM-langues
    In English
    Picto-PROGRAM-carte bleue
    Fees for EU Students: €12,000
    Picto-PROGRAM-carte bleue
    Fees for non-EU Students: €15,000

    Program Features

    Selectivity

    Image
    Bachelor student happy


    Like all of École Polytechnique's academic programs, the Bachelor is designed for top level students, with very high potential, capable of following a rich and demanding curriculum.

    École Polytechnique is ranked as one of the World's best small universities. As such, the class sizes in the Bachelor Program are voluntarily small, allowing close interaction with professors and better cohesion between students in the program.

    During the selection process, we look for a demonstration of the skills and aptitude necessary to succeed in the program. For example, the ability to think and work both independently and as a team, together with the motivation to follow a demanding curriculum. We are looking for qualities such as team spirit, perseverance and dynamism. Successful applicants should also demonstrate their interest for the program and explain why they believe it is well suited for them.

    Research-Oriented Learning

    Image
    Bachelor Student research


    Students benefit from an exceptional learning environment in which they have access to cutting-edge facilities located in École Polytechnique’s Research Centers.

    Bachelor students get to not only learn concepts, but also experiment them spending time in École Polytechnique cutting-edge Research Center, working in the labs on real problems currently tackled by our scientists. Whichever specialization students choose, they have to do a Bachelor Thesis, carried out in the form of a research project. Students thus get to spend time in the lab, where they are interacting with scientists and get a feel of the day-to-day routine of PhD students, post-docs, technicians and prominent researchers. Students are also offered regular scientific conferences and seminars on current research themes as well as laboratory visits.

    Three Years to a Double Major

    For three years, our students follow a demanding multidisciplinary scientific curriculum.

    The first year is dedicated to acquiring the intellectual tools and fundamental knowledge which will be essential for the rest of their higher education.  It is a year when they discover and experience several disciplines in order to better choose their specialization.

    As of the second and third years, students work towards one of three double majors:

    In the third year, students have the option to study abroad for the fall semester at one of our partner universities,  such as the University of Toronto, UC Berkeley, EPFL, KAIST, King’s College London, or The University of Melbourne. In the spring, students have an eight-week research internship, at the end of which they must submit their Bachelor Thesis.

    Mathematics at the Center of the Program: The Mathematics courses given in École Polytechnique's Bachelor Program are designed to fit any subsequent specialization streams (Physics, Economics, Computer Science). A notable point is the attention given from the beginning of the course to applications across the spectrum of Mathematics (Numerical Simulation and Calculations, Randomness and Data, Arithmetic Related Cryptology etc.).

     

    Image
    3-A-multidisciplinary-Program-correction.png

    Highlights

    International Exposure

    • 69% International Students
    • 39% of international faculty at l’X
    • 42 nationalities in the Bachelor

    The Bachelor students enjoy a truly international setting. École Polytechnique offers a multicultural environment promoting diversity and nourishing intercultural dialogue. The study of at least one foreign language is a mandatory part of the curriculum. The possibility for Bachelor students to study abroad during one semester is also offered in their third year.

    Personal Development

    École Polytechnique’s Bachelor of science is a multidisciplinary degree for internationally-oriented students who hold dear the values of excellence, audacity and integrity. They are dedicated and well-rounded individuals, who get involved both inside and outside of class. For three years, they are guided and supported by world-class professors and staff.

    During their time in the program, our students are guided and supported by several student services teams, including personal development coaches, that help them fit in, support them in any non-academic related matters and help create cohesion between the students. Learn more about student support in the program.

    Soft Skills

    On top of their education in fundamental sciences, our Bachelor students follow several courses providing them with the complementary soft skills to round out their background and knowledge.

    Through courses in Humanities and Social Sciences, they discover artistic and literary masterpieces, learn about French and European political systems and discuss ethical questions related to sciences. They also have classes in Foreign Languages and Cultures (Chinese, English, French as a foreign language, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish), Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship.

    In addition, students practice Sports least once a week and get to benefit from the campus’ great facilities including dorms, health care center, swimming pool, climbing wall, lake for rowing, and horseback riding.

    Picto-International-Faculty

    0 %

    International Faculty
    at École Polytechnique

    Picto-student-cosmo2

    0 %

    International or Bi-National
    Students in the Program

    Picto-nationalities

    0

    Nationalities in the
    Bachelor Program

    And After Graduation?

    The primary purpose of the Bachelor program is to open the doors of various Master’s and graduate degree programs, at École Polytechnique or other major institutions worldwide.

    Students receive support and coaching to further pursue their studies in the domains of their dream, such as cryptography, Big Data, astrophysics, mechanics, robotics, finances, energy management, nanotechnologies, monetary policy, development economics, business strategy, materials chemistry, biotechnology…

    Visit the Ecole Polytechnique Alumni Association website.

Le Bachelor of Science

Le Bachelor of Science de l'École polytechnique est un programme en trois ans conçu pour les étudiants passionnés par les mathématiques et les sciences. Ce programme hautement sélectif et pluridisciplinaire est entièrement enseigné en anglais.

Le Bachelor of Science est un programme intensif menant à une double majeure qui permet aux étudiants d'acquérir de solides connaissances et compétences dans plusieurs disciplines.

Nos étudiants bénéficient d’un environnement d’apprentissage exceptionnel. Ils ont notamment accès à des installations de pointe du Centre de recherche de l’École Polytechnique.

 

    Picto-PROGRAM-duree
    Trois ans - 180 ECTS
    Picto-PROGRAM-Multidisciplinary
    Trois doubles spécialisations
    Picto-PROGRAM-Start
    septembre 2019
    picto-terre
    International
    Picto-PROGRAM-Location
    En France
    Picto-PROGRAM-langues
    Enseigné en anglais
    Picto-PROGRAM-carte bleue
    Étudiants européens: 12 000€
    Picto-PROGRAM-carte bleue
    Étudiants non-européens: 15 000€

    Caractéristiques du programme

    Un programme sélectif

    Image
    Bachelor student happy


    Comme toutes les formations de l'École polytechnique, le Bachelor s'adresse à des étudiants brillants, à très fort potentiel, capables de suivre un curriculum riche et exigeant.

    L'École polytechnique est classée parmi les "World's Best Small Universities" (Meilleures universités à taille humaine au monde). A ce titre, les promotions du programme Bachelor sont volontairement petites, afin de favoriser les interaction entre les étudiants et les professeurs et de développer la cohésion au sein du programme.

    Au cours de la procédure de sélection, le jury d'admission s'attache à identifier les candidats faisant preuve des compétences qui seront nécessaires pour leur réussite dans notre Bachelor : autonomie dans le travail, capacité à réfléchir de manière indépendante, motivation et aptitudes à suivre un programme d'études exigeant. Nous recherchons des candidats témoignant de qualités telles que l'esprit d'équipe, la persévérance et le dynamisme. Nous recherchons aussi des candidats capables de démontrer leur intérêt pour notre programme de Bachelor et d'expliquer pourquoi cette formation est bien adaptée pour eux.

    Le jury d'admission prend en compte l'ensemble du dossier de candidature ainsi que les entretiens oraux pour prendre leurs décisions.

    Une formation adossée à la recherche

    Image
    Bachelor Student research


    Nos étudiants bénéficient d’un environnement d’apprentissage exceptionnel. Ils ont notamment accès à des installations de pointe du Centre de recherche de l’École Polytechnique.

    Les étudiants en Bachelor bénéficient de contacts privilégiés avec les laboratoires de l'École polytechnique et peuvent aborder des problèmes sur lesquels travaillent actuellement les chercheures. Quelle que soit la spécialisation choisie par les étudiants, ceux-ci doivent faire une "Bachelor Thesis" en troisième année, qui prend la forme d'un projet de recherche. Nos étudiants découvrent ainsi les laboratoires de l'intérieur, où ils sont en interaction régulière avec les chercheurs. Ils apprennent à connaître le quotidien des doctorants, des post-doctorants, techniciens et chercheurs éminents.

    Les étudiants peuvent également profiter des conférences et des séminaires scientifiques ayant lieu toute l'année à l'X sur des sujets de recherche très contemporains.

    Trois doubles spécialisations

    Pendant trois ans, nos étudiants suivent un programme scientifique pluridisciplinaire exigeant.

    La première année est consacrée à l’acquisition des connaissances fondamentales essentielles pour le reste de leurs études, ainsi qu'à l'expérimentation de plusieurs disciplines afin de choisir la bonne spécialisation par la suite. Pour leur deuxième et troisième année, les étudiants doivent ensuite choisir entre trois doubles majeures, ou spécialisations :

    En troisième année, les étudiants ont la possibilité d'étudier à l'étranger pour le semestre d'automne dans l'une de nos universités partenaires, telles que l'Université de Toronto, UC Berkeley, EPFL, KAIST, King's College London ou The University of Melbourne. Au printemps, les étudiants effectuent un stage de recherche de huit semaines, à la fin duquel ils doivent soumettre leur Bachelor Thesis (thèse de Bachelor).

    Les mathématiques au centre du programme : Les cours de mathématiques dispensés dans le programme Bachelor sont adaptés à toutes les doubles-majeures (physique, économie, informatique). Un point important est l’attention accordée dès le début du cours aux différentes applications à travers le spectre des mathématiques (simulation numérique et calculs, cryptologie arithmétique, etc.).

    Image
    3-A-multidisciplinary-Program-correction.png

    Points forts

    Ouverture internationale

    • 69% d’étudiants internationaux ou binationaux
    • 39% d’enseignants internationaux à l’X
    • 42 nationalités différentes sur les deux promotions actuelles du programme

    Les étudiants du programme Bachelor sont baignés dans un environnement très international. l'X offre un cadre multiculturel, encourageant la diversité et favorisant le dialogue et les échanges entre cultures. L'apprentissage d'une langue étrangère est obligatoire dans le cursus. Nos étudiants ont aussi la possibilité de partir un semestre à l'étranger en troisième année.

    Développement personnel

    Le Bachelor de l’École polytechnique est un programme pluridisciplinaire destiné aux étudiants brillants, audacieux, et attirés par l'international. Les étudiants qui entrent dans le programme Bachelor ont déjà suivi une solide formation en sciences et en mathématiques au lycée.

    Tout au long de leurs études, nos étudiants sont guidés par différentes équipes, notamment les coaches de développement personnel, qui les accompagnent dans leur intégration et les aident à créer de la cohésion au sein du programme. En savoir plus sur l'accompagnement des étudiants Bachelor.

    Ouverture d’esprit

    Pour compléter leurs acquis en sciences fondamentales, les étudiants du Bachelor suivent plusieurs cours visant à développer leurs compétences sociales.

    En cours d’humanités et sciences sociales, ils découvrent des chefs-d'œuvre artistiques et littéraires, s’intéressent aux systèmes politiques européens et discutent de questions éthiques liées aux sciences. A travers les cours de management de l'innovation et entrepreneuriat, nos étudiants sont initiés au fonctionnement des entreprises.

    Le programme comprend également deux heures d'activité physique et sportive obligatoire par semaine. Lorsque leur emploi du temps intense le leur permet, les étudiants ont accès à de nombreuses infrastructures sportives présentes sur le campus.

    Picto-International-Faculty

    0 %

    d’enseignants internationaux à l’X

    Picto-student-cosmo2

    0 %

    d’étudiants internationaux ou binationaux

    Picto-nationalities

    0

    nationalités sur les deux promotions actuelles du programme

    Après le Bachelor ?

    Le principal objectif du programme Bachelor est d’ouvrir les portes vers de nombreux Masters, à l’École Polytechnique ou dans d’autres grandes institutions partout dans le Monde.

    Les étudiants sont encadrés et soutenus tout au long du programme. Ils sont conseillés sur la poursuite de leurs études dans les domaines de leur choix, comme par exemple : la cryptographie, le Big Data, l’astrophysique, la mécanique, la robotique, la finance, la gestion de l’énergie, les nanotechnologies, la politique monétaire, l’économie du développement, la stratégie commerciale, la chimie des matériaux, la biotechnologie, etc.

    Site web des anciens et diplômés de l'École polytechnique