Teaching

All the programs have adapted to current circumstances and organized distance learning.

The Bachelor of Science: Courses are taught online for first and second year students. Concerning the third year, which prepares the Bachelor Thesis, the evaluation has been adapted to the circumstances.

The Ingénieur polytechnicien program: The current circumstances are being used to prepare for the start of the academic year with a digital core curriculum, lectures and presentations of research projects from the laboratories on campus. It will also be a new academic year under around the subjects of sustainable development and energy transition, with group workshops aiming to encourage communications between students in order to maintain the cohesion.

The Masters of Science & Technology (MSc&T): The current period is dedicated to internships for both the 1st and 2nd years. Many companies have allowed our students to do their internship remotely. The start of the academic year in september will be maintained no matter how the crisis evolves, wether digitally or on campus.

Starting the very beginning of the crisis in march, École Polytechnique carried out a global digitalisation of its teaching process so all French and International students can follow their courses remotely. Discover the example of Yannis Laplace's TP in physics for the Bachelor of Science.

Applications process

The Bachelor of Science: The recruitment of the 4th promotion continues with its last wave of applications (From April 04, 2020 to April 28, 2020 at 4pm French time). The Bachelor's team is studying the possibilities for students who would like to spend their next semester abroad and those who are preparing their Master's applications.  

Please click here to complete your application

The Ingénieur polytechnicien program: Following the measures announced by the Government on the introduction of a new calendar for the Grandes Ecoles admission exams, the CPGE written exams will take place from June 22 to 26, following the sanitary evolution at that time. Oral examinations will take place during the last two weeks of July. The final results will be communicated individually on August 7th.

The Masters of Science & Technology (MSc&T): are also working on the next academic year, recruitment for the last wave is open until 27 April and a 4th round has been exceptionally added and will open in May.

Please click here to apply to the Master of Science and Technology and here for the MSc Data Science for Business X-HEC

 

Image
Our students

Our students

  •  As part of the Resilience Operation, about 50 students from Ecole Polytechnique went back to their previous internships unit with the fire brigad or in police stations, for instance.
  • Bachelor students made a commitment in the civic reserve and the civil protection.
  • 42 students offered their help to the intensive care units of more than 20 hospitals in Ile-de-France, with regards to the follow up on their Covid-19 patients data bases. .
  • More than 400 students from the Bachelor of Science and the Cycle Ingénieur programs are involved in tutoring sessions for more than 500 students in France. Among them, 50 children whose parents are in militaries and currently joining forces to fight the Covid-19 crisis.

Independently learning completely new concepts is one of the greatest challenges we have been presented with, hopefully we’ll be able to turn this one of our successes! Maxime, 1st year Bachelor student. 

 

Hackathon covid-19

Two Bachelor students participated in a hackathon centered on the Covid-19 situation and took the second place on the podium.

The thematics were: government, healthcare, business and communities. In the end, about 1400 people from 52 nationalities participated, including about 100 mentors to help the 140 projects emerge. The participants worked during an entire weekend on tools such as Slack, Bemyapp or Zoom to create their projects remotely and be able to send it on time (a video of less than 2 minutes to present their solutions to the jury).

Three projects stood out like Granny (an application to facilitate exchanges with families and friends in Ehpad), DIO (a platform to recreate a value chain at the local level) and Safeline (an application to regulate queues in front of supermarkets).

 

Image
Hackathon Covid-19

L’enseignement

L’ensemble des programmes se sont adaptés aux circonstances actuelles pour permettre un suivi des enseignements à distance.

Le Bachelor of Science : Les cours sont assurés en ligne pour les étudiants de première et deuxième année. Concernant les troisième année, qui prépare le Bachelor Thesis, l’évaluation a été adaptée en vue des circonstances, en pass/fail.

Le Cycle ingénieur polytechnicien : Les circonstances actuelles sont mises à profit afin de préparer une rentrée académique par un tronc commun digitalisé, des conférences et des présentations de projets de recherche issus des laboratoires qui sont sur le campus de l’X. Ce sera aussi une rentrée placée sous le signe du développement durable et de la transition énergétique, des ateliers de groupes viseront notamment à favoriser le partage entre élèves afin de maintenir lien et cohésion.

Les Masters of Science & Technology (MSc&T) :  La période est actuelle est dédiée aux stages pour les 1ère et 2ème années, bon nombre d’entreprise ont permis à nos élèves de suivre leur stage en télétravail. La rentrée en septembre sera également maintenue, en physique ou digital.

Depuis le tout début de la crise en mars, l'École polytechnique mène une politique de digitalisation globale afin que tous les étudiants français et internationaux soient en mesure de suivre leurs cours à distance. Découvrez l'exemple d'un TP de physique de Yannis Laplace pour le Bachelor of Science.

Candidatures/concours

Le Bachelor of Science : Le recrutement de la 4ème promotion se poursuit avec sa dernière vague de candidature (Du 04 avril 2020 au 28 avril 2020 à 16h, heure française). L’équipe Bachelor étudie les possibilités pour les étudiants qui souhaitaient effectuer leur prochain semestre à l’étranger et ceux qui préparent leurs candidatures en masters.   

Pour finaliser votre dossier de candidature du Bachelor, cliquez ici

Le Cycle ingénieur polytechnicien : Suite aux mesures annoncées par le gouvernement sur l’aménagement d’un nouveau calendrier des concours des Grandes Ecoles, les écrits du concours CPGE se dérouleront du 22 au 26 juin (pour les MP, PC, PSI, du 25 juin au 6 juillet pour la filière universitaire, sous réserve des conditions sanitaires à cette période. Les oraux auront lieu durant les deux dernières semaines de juillet. Les résultats définitifs du concours seront communiqués individuellement le 7 août.

Les Masters of Science &Technology (MSc&T) : travaillent également sur la prochaine rentrée, le recrutement pour la dernière vague est ouvert jusqu’au 27 avril et une 4ème vague a été exceptionnellement ajoutée et ouvrira en Mai.

Pour envoyer votre candidature aux MSc&T, cliquez ici. Pour le MSc Data Science for Business X-HEC, cliquez ici

 

Image
Our students

Nos étudiants

  • Dans le cadre de l’opération Résilience, près de 50 élèves polytechniciens sont retournées prêter main forte à leur ancienne unité de stage, chez les sapeurs-pompiers de Paris ou en Gendarmerie par exemple
  • Des étudiants Bachelor se sont également engagés dans la réserve civique ainsi que dans la protection civile
  • 42 élèves se sont aussi mobilisés auprès des services de réanimation d’une vingtaine d’hôpitaux en Ile-de-France, afin de les aider à faire le suivi de leurs bases de données de patients Covid-19
  • Plus de 400 élèves polytechniciens et étudiants Bachelor sont engagés en tutorat et accompagnent plus de 500 jeunes dans toute la France, parmi eux, près de 50 enfants de militaires dont les parents sont mobilisés dans la lutte contre le COVID-19 ou en opération extérieure.  

« Apprendre de nouveaux concepts chacun de notre côté est l’un des plus grands challenges auxquels nous faisons face ; j’espère que nous le relèverons ! » explique Maxime, étudiant en 1ère année du programme Bachelor.

 

Hackathon Covid-19

Deux étudiants du Bachelor de l’X ont participé à un hackathon centré sur le Covid-19 et ont remporté la deuxième place du podium.

Les thématiques étaient : le gouvernement, le personnel soignant, les entreprises et les communautés. Au final, environ 1400 personnes de 52 nationalités ont participé dont une centaine de mentors pour faire émerger 140 projets. Les participants ont travaillé tout le weekend sur des outils comme Slack, Bemyapp ou encore zoom pour créer à distance leurs projets et pouvoir l’envoyer à temps (une vidéo de moins de 2 minutes pour exposer au jury leurs solutions).

Au final, ce sont les projets Granny (application pour faciliter les échanges avec les proches en Ehpad), DIO (une plateforme pour recréer une chaine de valeur au niveau local) et Safeline (une application pour réguler les files d’attentes devant les supermarchés) qui se sont distingués.

 

Image
Hackathon Covid-19